“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.” – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

I am writing this on Halloween, just a few hours before the doorbell will begin to ring and little Ghosts and Goblins will appear on the doorstep to scare us into handing over the chocolate.

Halloween got me thinking about the emotion of fear and how pervasive it is in our lives.   One of the things the human Ego seems to be hardwired to fear most is loss. Whether it’s a personal relationship, our health, a job, or a financial loss, our first reaction is likely to be fear that we won’t ever be able to replace what we lost with something that is equally good.

(I should clarify here that I am not talking about the death of someone dear to you as being simply a “loss” to be replaced. No individual can ever be “replaced” because we are each unique and special and priceless. And while a breakup or divorce can be as traumatic as a death, we must still believe that when our grieving process is complete, we will one day experience love and joy again, perhaps with another unique and special person.)

What I have discovered over the many years I have been a student of prosperity consciousness and personal development is that our attitude about a loss has everything to do with whether it eventually opens up the space for a new blessing or becomes a slippery slope to further loss.

If you can come to accept that your loss is simply what’s so for right now, you can then turn your thoughts and emotions to focus on what you WANT to have happen next, instead of expending precious energy on useless denial. I personally find that my greatest ally in this is my faith. Like most of my clients, I believe in a Higher Power (I call it God, but you may call it the Universe or something else) that has my back and wants me to succeed. My faith (and past experience) always reminds me that a loss is not going to doom me. It’s a temporary condition. I choose to believe that something just as good or even better is on its way to me right now.

I choose to believe that God/the Universe always knows what I am going need even before I know it, so the NEW Good was already on its way to me even before my loss took place.   God/the Universe is always looking for ways to match us up with others who need what we have to offer, so we can create a Win-Win together. All we have to do is let go of trying to force our own solution, and instead listen carefully for the “still small voice” that is whispering the perfect “How” in our ear, guiding us to be in the right place at the right time to receive our good that’s on its way.

I had a delightful experience of this phenomenon just this week. Well, didn’t start out as delightful. One of my favorite clients texted that she was not going to continue our coaching for the foreseeable future, due to dealing with serious personal matters that had her too distracted to focus on the Big Goal we were working on.

At first, I was really taken aback. Texting? Really? Why wouldn’t she choose to tell me this on the upcoming call we had scheduled that she had already paid for? It was hard not to take it personally. I felt like the heroine in an old television show whose boyfriend broke up with her via a Post It note stuck to her computer screen!

Still, I knew I wasn’t truly feeling upset with my client. She’s been working hard for many months and making a lot of headway pursuing her goals, and I know she didn’t make the decision to take a break from coaching lightly. I trusted that she knew what was best for her. When I examined my emotional reaction to this loss more closely, I discovered an old fear coming up for me.

Even though my practice has been nearly full for some time, around Halloween, the past still comes back to haunt me. My husband is a Realtor, and the fall and winter months tend to be quieter times for his business. For several years during the Great Recession, his real estate income was very sporadic, so my coaching income paid most of the bills. Every Holiday Season, I was terrified that all my clients would go on an extended vacation in December and we wouldn’t have a turkey on the table or any presents under the tree.

Although our reality may change, our Ego’s Old, Limiting Beliefs are hard to shake.   Remembering a few challenging Holiday Seasons from the past was enough to set my fearful Ego off because it is still looking for ANY sign that we could once again be financially insecure.   Thankfully, I recognized the Old Limiting Belief resurfacing and reminded my fearful Ego that Rick and I are both prospering in our careers, have plenty of savings in the bank, and our past is not in our future.

One of my favorite tools to help my Ego relax so I can listen for God’s “How” is the affirmation: I hereby give up my Old, Limiting Belief that there is never enough and life is a constant struggle. My New, Empowering Belief is that I am prosperous, with never-ending abundance to spare and to share!” I repeated this aloud and went on with my day.

Just two hours later, I had a free coaching session with someone I had never met who was referred to me by a colleague. Our session had originally been scheduled for a few weeks ago, but she had to cancel at the last minute due to a family emergency and we rescheduled for the same afternoon that I received the “Dear Jane” text from my client.

Our free session went great. There was comfortable rapport and immediate trust between us, and I was delighted to learn she embraces the Law of Attraction and many of the tools I use to help my clients turbo-charge their results. Without hesitation, she was ready to sign up for coaching.

When I gave her a choice among my few remaining timeslots, she chose the one that my former client had graciously made available that very day. Thus, what had looked like a loss just a couple of hours earlier was transformed into a Win-Win-Win for my new client, my former client and me.

And once again, I was reminded that if we can have faith, calm our Ego’s fear of loss, and expect something GOOD to take its place, it will!

****************** The Gift of Dreams Fulfilled! ********************

I invite you to offer someone you care about a truly unique gift that can change their life — ONE HOUR of Personal Success Coaching! It is absolutely F*R*E*E* of charge, with no obligation and no strings attached! And if YOU haven’t coached with me in awhile and would like a “tune up” session please give yourself this gift!

To schedule a F*R*E*E* HOUR of phone coaching that will help clarify your Big Goals and get you into ACTION to make this the BEST year yet, please email me at caroll@practicalprosperitycoach.com or call toll-free 888-503-8145.